There are situations where your account may become restricted, which will limit what you can do with the service. These restrictions are there to protect you, your account, and your money.


Types of restrictions

Immediately after setting up your account

As part of our onboarding process we carry out routine checks on new accounts. In some cases, this may temporarily restrict your account until this screening is complete. 

For further information please refer to our Terms and conditions.

Please note  these reviews vary from case to case, which means we are unable to provide a specific timeframe for the process to be completed.

Your account becomes restricted after using Wero

If your account becomes restricted after have started using Wero, it usually means that additional checks are required to comply with regulatory obligations and ensure that you can safely continue using Wero. 

If this happens to you, please contact your bank for further information.


What does an account restriction mean?

While your account is restricted, you will not be able to:

❌ Send payments

❌ Receive payments

Connect a new bank account to Wero

You will still be able to:

✅ Check on your previous account activity


What happens to your saved bank accounts?

If your account is restricted:

  • Your bank accounts stay linked to Wero unless you remove them manually
  • They will temporarily be unavailable for making or receiving payments

Was this article helpful?

170 out of 399 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request